Skip to content
Sunderland Counts — Sunderland, in numbers.Local help →

Sunderland · England

People and living standards

Sunderland council area. Every figure carries its own date.

Sunderland

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Sunderland local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population fell from 295,896 in 1991 to 287,070 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Sunderland council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 292,268 people in 1996; 287,070 people in 2025. 1.8% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Sunderland council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991295,896
1992296,325
1993296,882
1994295,295
1995293,891
1996292,268
1997290,804
1998289,709
1999287,527
2000285,720
2001284,601
2002283,037
2003281,528
2004280,113
2005279,199
2006278,370
2007277,834
2008276,812
2009276,209
2010275,980
2011275,330
2012275,317
2013275,247
2014275,751
2015275,408
2016275,490
2017274,816
2018274,339
2019274,277
2020273,583
2021274,378
2022277,637
2023282,669
2024286,696
2025287,070
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Sunderland council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 62,216 people in 1996; 48,907 people in 2025. 21.4% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Sunderland council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199163,826
199264,167
199364,614
199464,246
199563,368
199662,216
199761,213
199860,376
199959,135
200057,972
200156,608
200255,266
200354,253
200453,097
200552,095
200651,262
200750,490
200849,708
200949,165
201048,518
201148,015
201248,083
201347,949
201447,941
201547,940
201648,049
201748,241
201848,468
201948,515
202048,223
202148,047
202248,503
202349,246
202449,249
202548,907
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Sunderland council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 186,625 people in 1996; 177,320 people in 2025. 5% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Sunderland council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991190,045
1992189,786
1993189,656
1994188,216
1995187,505
1996186,625
1997185,850
1998185,402
1999184,459
2000183,682
2001183,811
2002183,418
2003182,484
2004181,934
2005181,788
2006181,790
2007181,985
2008181,581
2009181,156
2010180,996
2011180,207
2012178,454
2013177,430
2014176,860
2015175,774
2016174,759
2017173,041
2018171,565
2019170,430
2020169,566
2021169,692
2022171,503
2023174,688
2024177,538
2025177,320
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Sunderland council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 43,427 people in 1996; 60,843 people in 2025. 40.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Sunderland council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199142,025
199242,372
199342,612
199442,833
199543,018
199643,427
199743,741
199843,931
199943,933
200044,066
200144,182
200244,353
200344,791
200445,082
200545,316
200645,318
200745,359
200845,523
200945,888
201046,466
201147,108
201248,780
201349,868
201450,950
201551,694
201652,682
201753,534
201854,306
201955,332
202055,794
202156,639
202257,631
202358,735
202459,909
202560,843
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 274,173 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Sunderland · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh8,2043%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African2,6651%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups2,5050.9%
White259,37594.6%
Other ethnic group1,4240.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 275,506 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Sunderland · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White264,28295.9%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,7780.6%
Asian/Asian British7,3362.7%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British1,2730.5%
Other ethnic group8370.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 280,807 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Sunderland · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White275,57198.1%
Mixed1,0900.4%
Asian/Asian British2,8101%
Black/Black British3620.1%
Chinese/Other9740.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 25.9% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Sunderland council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £8,369 per person in 1997; £19,252 per person in 2024. 130% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Sunderland council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19978,369
19988,323
19998,735
20009,296
20019,634
20029,895
200310,160
200410,526
200510,962
200611,317
200711,725
200811,923
200912,354
201012,657
201112,868
201213,498
201313,854
201414,087
201514,476
201614,981
201715,312
201815,485
201915,978
202016,131
202116,793
202217,346
202318,325
202419,252
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Sunderland council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -21.1% in 1997; -25.9% in 2024. 4.8 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Sunderland council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-21.1
1998-23.1
1999-22.8
2000-21.9
2001-22.1
2002-21.8
2003-22.1
2004-22.4
2005-22
2006-22.7
2007-23.6
2008-24.3
2009-22.8
2010-21.6
2011-21
2012-20.1
2013-20.9
2014-22.1
2015-23.9
2016-22.2
2017-22.3
2018-24.1
2019-24.2
2020-23.1
2021-23.1
2022-24.5
2023-25.1
2024-25.9
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Households facing several disadvantages

23.8%

21 March 2021 · Sunderland local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

22.9%

21 March 2021 · Sunderland local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

8%

21 March 2021 · Sunderland local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£147,000

July 2026 · Sunderland local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£707

August 2026 · Sunderland local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.